Monday - Friday / 9-5pm

CPC/ADR Driver Training

Home > CPC/ADR Driver Training

Initial Qualification

  • All new drivers seeking to obtain their first Category C or Category D licence need to complete an initial CPC training programme. Individuals should understand that they cannot obtain a commercial driving licence without completing this initial qualification. You’ll get a Driver Qualification Card (DQC) when you qualify. You must keep this with you when you’re driving professionally.


    The Driver CPC initial qualification has four parts:

    1. Theory test (this includes two separate tests - multiple choice and hazard perception)
    2. Case study test
    3. Driving ability test
    4. Practical demonstration test


    You must pass all four parts to get your Driver CPC!

    You can book parts one and two online. You can take part one and part two in any order. You can also take part three and part four in any order. However, you must pass part one before you can take part three and pass part two before you can take part four.

  • Driver CPC affects any business or individual driver using a vocational licence for any of the following for commercial purposes: 

    • LGV Class C1: 7 ½ tonne Vehicles
    • LGV Class C: Rigid Lorries
    • LGV Class C+E: Articulated Lorries
    • LGV Class C1+E: 7 ½ tonne + Trailer 
    • PCV Cat D, D+E, D1, D1+E

Periodic Training

  • Training Terms

    • All drivers need to complete 35 hours of periodic training every five years on an ongoing basis to keep driving.
    • Periodic training is delivered through courses that drivers attend over the five-year period for which their current Driver CPC is valid. There are no pass or fail exams for these tests.
    • The minimum length of a training course is 7 hours.
    • If the course needs to be taken over the course of 5 days, then each part must take place within 24 hours of the last.
    • Each new five-year period will begin from the expiry date of the driver's current Driver CPC qualification, and not from the date on which they reached the 35 hours minimum training requirement.
    • Drivers of both PCV and LGV vehicles only need to do one set of periodic training every 5 years. On completion of the course, Induct EA will register candidates details with the DVSA, who provide a central database of training records.  There is access online for drivers to check their own training records.


    Drivers of PCV vehicles prior to 10 September 2008 had to complete their first block of 35 hours of training and have their DQC issued by 9 September 2013. The deadline to complete their second block of training is 9 September 2018.

    Drivers of LGV vehicles prior to 10 September 2009 had to complete 35 hours of training and have their DQC issued by 9 September 2014. The deadline to complete their second block of training is 9 September 2019.


    *All new drivers need to complete CPC Initial Training*

CPC Modules

  • The 35 hours minimum CPC training is made up of the following modules and has to be completed every 5 years. Time scales are a rough estimate as some may be completed quicker than others, equalling around the 35 hours minimum training.

    • Drivers Hours (3.5 hour module)
    • The Tachograph (3.5 hour module)
    • Checks and Defects (3.5 hour module)
    • Company and Public Image (3.5 hour module)
    • Economic Driving - theory (3.5 hour module)
    • Health and Safety (3.5 hour module)
    • Licence, Weights and Dimensions (3.5 hour module)
    • Security (3.5 hour module)
    • Tiredness, Diet and Lifestyle (3.5 hour module)
    • Vulnerable Road Users (7 hour module)
    • First Aid at Work for LGV Drivers (7 hour module)
  • In order to cover all the above modules candidates would need to do the course over a period of 5 days. If candidates wish to do a few modules at a time they can do so, however the minimum length of training is 7 hours over a 24 hour period. 

  • Pricing is as follows: 

    • 1 day course £75 + VAT and upload fee of £8.75
    • 2 day course £150 + VAT and upload fee of £17.50
    • 3 day course £225 + VAT and upload fee of £26.25
    • 4 day course £300 + VAT and upload fee of £35
    • 5 day course £375 + VAT and upload fee of £43.75


    Please contact our training centre for more information 01603 488898.

ADR Vocational Training

  • ADR Training is required for any driver carrying packaged dangerous goods for a tanker of >1m3 or tank container of >3m3- regardless of the gross weight of the vehicle. This qualification is valid for 5 years. There is no formal pre-qualification required and anyone that holds a Full UK Drivers licence may attend the course. The certification is valid for 5 years and a refresher must be taken before the expiry date in order to re-qualify and bring drivers up to date with knowledge and changes to regulations.

    In order to obtain a Vocational Training Certificate you must attain the following minimum qualifications:


    Core + Packages or Tanks + minimum of ONE Hazard Class


    Once these have been obtained, additional classes or modes of carriage can be added. 

    The initial course is held over a period of 3-4 days for Packages and 5 days if Tanks are required. All refresher courses run over 3 days. All ADR Training is conducted at our site in Norwich.

    The ADR qualification is divided into classes, commonly known as Core, Packages, Tanks and 9 common classes of dangerous goods.

    Basic first aid and fire training is also included in all our packages. The training is both practical and theoretical and covers almost all vehicle types and loads. 

    • CORE: Basic syllabus for carrying any class of dangerous good in a tanker, tank container, package, drum, cylinder or loose in bulk. 
    • TANKS: For carrying any class of dangerous good in road tankers or tanker containers.
    • PACKAGES & LOOSE IN BULK: For carrying any class of dangerous good in either sacks, drums, cylinders, cartons or loose in bulk, skips, tipper trucks or dust carts. 
    • CLASS 1: Explosives
    • CLASS 2: Gases- compressed, liquefied, refrigerated or dissolved under pressure. 
    • CLASS 3: Flammable Liquids
    • CLASS 4: Flammable Solids
    • CLASS 5: Oxidising Substances
    • CLASS 6: Toxic, Harmful and infectious Substances
    • CLASS 7: Radioactive
    • CLASS 8: Corrosives
    • CLASS 9: Miscellaneous e.g- asbestos or anything not covered in the above 8 classes. 


    Please note that CLASS 1 is an optional extra on top of our standard courses and CLASS 7 training is currently not provided by us.